The "Shared With" column displays users who no longer have access to a document in SharePoint Online

Problem

Consider the following scenario.

  • In a SharePoint Online library, you add the Shared With column to the view for the library.

  • You share a document with a user or group, and the user or group is then displayed in the Shared With column.

  • You remove the permissions for the user or group with whom you previously shared the document. However, the user or group is still displayed in the Shared With column.

Solution

This behavior is by design. The Shared With column displays any accounts that the document was previously shared with.

More information

Still need help? Go to Microsoft Community.

Expand your Office skills
Explore training
Get new features first
Join Office Insiders

Was this information helpful?

Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback! It sounds like it might be helpful to connect you to one of our Office support agents.

×