Stopping synchronization in a shared folder in SharePoint Workspace 2010

You can stop synchronizing a shared folder while you are using it, or from the Launchbar.

Stopping synchronization while you are using a shared folder

Click Stop synchronizing shared folder name in the Synchronization Tasks pane.

Note: This action affects only the computer on which you select the option. If you want to stop synchronization for the shared folder on all computers on which you have your account, you must select a deletion option as described below.

Stopping synchronization from the Launchbar

  1. Click the shared folder you want to stop synchronizing.

  2. On the Home tab, click the drop-down arrow on theDelete button, and then click a deletion option.


    • Delete: The shared folder is deleted from your account on this computer. However, if you have added your account to one or more other computers, the shared folder will continue to be listed under the category "Not On This Computer." If desired, you could restore the deleted shared folder by fetching it from another computer.

    • Delete from All Computers: The shared folder is deleted from all computers on which you have your account. Your membership in the shared folder is terminated unless another member re-invites you. This option displays only if you have your account on more than one computer.

    • Delete for All Members: The shared folder is deleted from all workspace members' computers. This option is available only to managers. Use this option only if you are certain that all members are no longer using the shared folder and any essential information has been archived.

Share Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Email Email

Was this information helpful?

Great! Any other feedback?

How can we improve it?

Thank you for your feedback!