Publish (task field)

Data Type    Yes/No

Entry Type    Entered

Description    When the Publish field is set to Yes, the task is added to timesheets and task progress for assigned team members when the project is published. When the Publish field is set to No, the task is viewable in the project when it’s published, but it won’t be added to team member timesheets and task progress. By default, this field is set to Yes.

Best Uses    Add the Publish field to a task view when you want to view or change whether a task will be added to team member timesheets and task progress when the project is published. This can be particularly useful if you are still developing the details of new or changed tasks, and are not ready for team members to start reporting their work.

Example    You and your team are busy working on an existing enterprise project. You have just updated progress for current tasks. In addition, you have recently learned of increased scope changes to a work phase coming up in two months. You have added new tasks and changed resource assignments in the project plan to respond to these changes. However, you’re still researching certain task durations. You want to publish the updates you’ve made for current tasks, but you do not want the upcoming work to show up on team member timesheets and task progress until the changes are complete. You insert the Publish column into the Task Sheet and change the setting for the tasks in the upcoming work phase to No. When you publish, updates to the current tasks are pushed out to team member timesheets and task progress, but the upcoming work phase is only made viewable in the Project Center. A few days later, you finish the scheduling changes. You set the Publish field for these tasks to Yes, and then publish the project plan to Project Server. The tasks for the upcoming work phase are added to the appropriate team members’ timesheets and task progress.

Remarks    Although the Publish field is available for local projects, it is only useful when working with an enterprise project through Project Server.

If you have already published a project and then later set the Publish field for a task to No, when you publish the project again, the task will be removed from team member timesheets and task progress.

Applies To: Project Standard 2010, Project 2007, Project Professional 2013, Project Standard 2013, Project 2010

Was this information helpful?

Yes No

How can we improve it?

255 characters remaining

To protect your privacy, please do not include contact information in your feedback. Review our privacy policy.

Thank you for your feedback!

Change language