Delete a task or plan

Got a task or plan you don't need anymore? Get rid of it!

Note: Want to close or archive a plan instead of deleting? This is not currently supported in Planner. We have some suggestions for how to handle closing a plan, and we'd love to hear your ideas. Leave us your feedback, or vote on features that others have suggested, at planner.uservoice.com.

Tasks

You can delete a task from the plan's board or while in a task's details.

Warning: There is no way to recover a deleted task. If you accidentally delete a task, you'll need to recreate it from scratch.

To delete a task on the Board, select the three dots on the right side of the task card, and then choose Delete.

From the board, click the ellipses and then click delete

If you're in the task's details, select the three dots on the upper right, and then choose Delete.

Click delete from a tasks details

Plans

Every plan is also an Office 365 Group. When you delete a plan, you also permanently delete the group. This removes all group conversations, email, files, calendar events, and related information. You must be a group administrator to delete a plan.

Administrators: Delete plans

If you're the administrator, you can edit the group to delete it.

Warning: When you delete a plan, there is no way to recover the group or its information. All group conversations, email, files, calendar events, and related information will be permanently removed.

To delete a plan, select the three dots to the right of the plan name, and then choose Edit plan.

Click the ellipses and then click Edit plan

On the box that appears, select Delete Plan. A message appears to verify that you also want to permanently delete the Office 365 Group.

From Edit a plan, click Delete plan

In the Delete plan and Office 365 group dialog, select I understand that all plan and group content will be deleted, and then choose Delete.

The delete plan confirmation dialog box

Want to leave without deleting? If you're the administrator, but you want to leave the plan, you'll need to hand your administrator role over to someone else before you can leave.

Members: Leave plans to remove them

If you're not the administrator, you can't delete the plan. Instead, you can leave the plan to remove it from your Planner hub.

To leave a plan, select the three dots to the right of the plan name, and then choose Leave plan.

Leave the plan

Connect with an expert
Contact us
Expand your skills
Explore training

Was this information helpful?

Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback! It sounds like it might be helpful to connect you to one of our Office support agents.

×