Delete a site or team subsite
You might want to delete a site or subsite if it’s no longer needed. For example, if you created a team site to track progress on a specific project, and the project has ended, you might decide to delete the site after a certain amount of time has passed.
When you delete a site, you’re also deleting any subsites, content, and user information that are part of the site, including site configuration settings, documents, document libraries, lists and list data such as surveys, calendars, events, discussions, and announcements.
If you’re sure you want to delete the site, follow these instructions:
Go to the site or subsite you want to delete.
At the top of the site or subsite you want to delete, click Settings > Site settings.
On the Site Settings page, under Site Actions, click Delete this site.
Note If Delete this site doesn’t appear on the Site Settings page, you don’t have permission to delete this site.
On the Delete This Site page, verify that you are deleting the correct site, and then click Delete.
If you accidentally delete a site, it can be restored from the site collection recycle bin by a site collection administrator.