Delete a site or workspace

When you delete a Web site or workspace, you permanently destroy all content and user information, including the following:

  • Documents and document libraries

  • Lists and list data, including surveys, discussions, announcements, and the calendar

  • Web site settings and configurations

  • Permission levels and security information related to the Web site

  • Groups created with the Web site

  • Sites of the Web site collection that you want to delete, along with the sites' contents and user information

To complete the steps in this section, you must be a member of the Team Sitename Owners group or have the Full Control permission level.

Important: When you delete a top-level site, you delete all subsites within the site and all of the content within those subsites.

  1. On the Site Actions menu Button image , click Site Settings.

    Note: On a site for which the Site Actions menu is customized, point to Site Settings, and then click the settings that you want to view.

  1. On the Site Settings page, in the Site Administration section, click Delete this site.

  2. On the Delete Web Site page, click Delete.

Note: If you are a server administrator, you can also delete top-level sites and site collections by using SharePoint Central Administration.

Top of Page

Share Facebook Facebook Twitter Twitter Email Email

Was this information helpful?

Great! Any other feedback?

How can we improve it?

Thank you for your feedback!